GQ Men of the Year 2023 Award Winners #MOTY23

The GQ Men of the Year Awards 2023, in partnership with Standard Bank South Africa, celebrated its fifth annual ceremony on December 2, 2023, at Langhams, Fourways in Johannesburg. This prestigious event honored South Africa’s cultural shapers and boundary-pushers.

Molife Kumona, GQ South Africa’s Editor-in-Chief, reflected on the year’s culturally defining moments and the remarkable individuals who have excelled in their fields. “Recognizing these outstanding figures has been a pleasure,” he remarked.

Here are the distinguished winners of the GQ Men of the Year 2023 Awards:

Industry Icon of the Year – Mafikizolo Afrika: This legendary duo, Nhlanhla Nciza and Theo Kgosinkwe, has influenced the African music industry for over two decades with their eclectic musical style.

Industry Icon of the Year – Faith Seuoe: Faith Seuoe has redefined makeup artistry, showcasing her skills on global platforms and collaborating with high-profile individuals.

Industry Icon of the Year – Dr. Thebe Ikalafeng: A renowned branding expert, Dr. Ikalafeng has significantly contributed to branding and reshaping the African narrative, founding Brand Leadership Group and initiating Brand Africa.

Entertainer of the Year – MacG: Radio DJ and producer MacG has taken the digital space by storm with his podcast ‘Podcast and Chill,’ featuring candid conversations with notable personalities.

Game Changer of the Year – Edmund Wessels: Biomedical engineer Edmund Wessels, creator of the innovative gynaecological device FlexiGyn™, won the 2023 Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation.

Woman of the Year – Desiree Ellis: A pioneer in women’s football in South Africa, Desiree Ellis has led Banyana Banyana to significant achievements, including winning the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

Woman of the Year – Uncle Waffles: DJ Uncle Waffles, known for her amapiano performances, has gained international acclaim, including a historic performance at Coachella.

Sports Team of the Year – The Springboks: The Springboks, South Africa’s rugby team, continue to showcase their skill and passion, having won their fourth Rugby World Cup champions title.

Designer of the Year – Luke Radloff: Luke Radloff, founder and Creative Director of UNI FORM, has made a name for himself in high-end fashion with his innovative designs and creative direction.

People’s Choice Award – Thembinkosi Mthembu: Actor Thembinkosi Mthembu, known for roles in “The Republic” and “Shaka iLembe,” has captivated audiences with his performances and charisma.

Editor’s Special Tribute – Thapelo Mokoena: Thapelo Mokoena, a versatile talent in acting, production, and presenting, has made significant contributions to South Africa’s entertainment industry.

Editor’s Special Tribute – Thami Dish: Social entrepreneur and LGBTQI+ activist Thami Kotlolo, the founder of Africa’s premier LGBTQ recognition awards, The Feather Awards, has been a powerful advocate for social change.

Humanitarian of the Year – Ali Conn: Ali Conn, recognized for his work in media and social spaces, has significantly contributed to food system transformation in South Africa through SA Harvest.

Musician of the Year – Inkabi Zezwe: The collaboration between Sjava and Big Zulu has created a powerful musical entity, Inkabi Zezwe, blending hip hop and African Trap.

Standard Bank Business Leader of the Year – Abednico Mkhari: Abednico Mkhari, CEO of NTGR Engineering, has transformed the company into an award-winning engineering firm, championing diversity and female empowerment.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Angus Gibson: Angus Gibson, a prominent filmmaker, has been a pivotal figure in documentary and television filmmaking, exploring deep social and political themes.

As these winners demonstrate, the GQ Men of the Year Awards continues to spotlight those who are driving change and making significant contributions in their respective fields.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *